Run, anyone?

Image

Five days a week since I started running, I get up early to be able to get in a good run.  Since my last injury (sprained ankle then plantar fasciitis, which I still have in my right foot) and the extreme heat, I haven’t gotten to my stride yet.  I was almost at 11-12 miles per run before the injury back in May.  Also I should mention Max got bit by another dog and injured his paw, so I also sat out during that time hoping and praying he’d be able to run again.

He does and we do, but not like we were.  Only just the middle of last week (finally!) I have been pushing 7+ miles without getting to winded or needing to stop.  Its been a fight to push through this setback and foot pain because I have this half marathon in about a month and I’m not ready.

Today felt good–the weather said 62- it hasn’t been that cool since probably May in the morning.  I had my energy bowl, (cottage cheese, spoonful of yogurt, blueberries and raspberries),

Image

Then I sat down to get my shoes on.

But I ran into a problem, as Max seemed to want to cuddle, not run! I gave him a few scratches but by then it was 6:30 so we were out the door!

ImageImage

Well after the initial foot pain and shock of it all (it always is shocking at first) and also the talking-myself-out-of-running-to-walking-because-it-would-feel-so-much-better-than-this phase, I got a good stride going.  I got THE stride going, and I didn’t want to stop!  But oh yeah I have to go to work so I did, 9 and a half miles and 2 hours later.

We returned, triumphant!   Of course some of us were feeling a little more triumphant than others.

Image

Any questions, perspective, and comments are warmly welcomed.. I swear! Good and bad, its about growing and learning and getting better. I'd love to hear your thoughts, anytime. ;)

