Sockin’ it to McDonalds

Guess what was waiting for me when I got home today?

No not him, well yes he was but that’s not what I meant.  Got a package in the mail today!  One of the best parts about your kids growing up and moving away is the extra money you find yourself left with at the end of the month.  No more “allowance”, gas money or lunch money.  No one else is eating all the food out of your fridge, laundry costs are cheaper and even utility bills drop.  It is a  whole new world for me to be able to buy things I might want for myself and not feel selfish about it.

So I saw these compression socks a few weeks ago on Schwaggle and really didn’t think I needed them or that they would help “get the blood flowing in my legs while running long distances.” They were also $25.00 (Half off!) and I’ve never owned a pair of $25.00 socks I think that’s crazy.  But as the race is approaching and I wasn’t making good progress in running at the time, I think I got desperate.  I hardly remember buying them but here they are.

I’ve tried “compression socks” before, and they cut off my blood flow and were so darn uncomfortable I’d take them off 5 minutes into wearing them.  So I didn’t have much hope for these.  But here they were so I figured I’d try them on and wear them for the rest of the afternoon.

Well I have to say my legs didn’t feel like they were getting cut off.. actually I felt quite energized, oddly enough!  They didn’t bother me one bit (although I felt kind of silly wearing knee socks) and infact, later when I went to walk Max the plantar fasciitis pain in my right foot was down probably 70% from where it usually is.  The real test will be when I run tomorrow, but so far it may seem that spending $25.00 for socks might of been a good deal, xxxfingers.

So I am constantly thinking about a McDonald’s Caramel Frappe…

and I had to curb this addiction before it ruined all chances of me finishing losing the weight.  As utterly delicious as they are, a medium Caramel Frappe is a whopping 550 calories and I could drink one of those in under 5 minutes.  Especially since we’ve had these dramatic heat waves.   I mean, I couldn’t think of a more perfect way to cool off.  If only they were zero calories!  So, I stopped cold turkey.  After days of driving past McDonald’s (its on my way to work) feeling mopey and angry (as if I was going through withdrawls) I finally got an idea for an alternative.

Volia’ –all the things you need to make a healthy version of a frappe with less than HALF the calories. (around 200 calories, give or take a few)

For my “frappe” I use:

1 scoop of chocolate flavored whey protein powder (I use BodyTech Whey Tech or Pro Isolate)

1/2 cup of Almond Milk

2 or 3 spoonfuls of vanilla yogurt

8-10 cubes of ice

Mix all ingredients in a blender on high for a few minutes until all the ice has crushed.

For the top:

Fat free whipped cream (just a bit!)

Chocolate #9 Agave Energy Gel (for the chocolate syrup!) And here is the finished product!

Its not EXACTLY like McDonalds, I mean just looking at their rich whipped cream tells you they’re not skimpin’ on the sugar, but it definately tastes good and cools you off, but with alot less guilt!

Have a great Thursday everyone!

3 thoughts on “Sockin’ it to McDonalds

Any questions, perspective, and comments are warmly welcomed.. I swear! Good and bad, its about growing and learning and getting better. I'd love to hear your thoughts, anytime. ;)

