Where I Have Been

Hello all, I am back and hopefully getting back on track.   Where have I been?  Well, my nice, simple life got a little less simple since I last posted, and I’ve had to do some major readjusting.  Finally I think I’m getting the hang of it.  You see, it all started when I went to this festival “Retro on Roscoe” with my friends Maria and Jenna and their guys.

Here is me and a few of the sites I saw at one of the many wonderful festivals Chicago’s neighborhoods put on during the summer:

There are local vendors, art, music and good food.  We saw a band my friend Maria knew about called “The Wedding Banned” who were really funny and great except when they would stop playing before the big ending of a song.  (Have you ever had that happen, and you wait and wait for the big finish but it never comes?  That can be very annoying.)

It was a little awkward with my friends, I mean, who both brought their boyfriends and here I am sally single (for 3+  years now), odd man out.  Luckily the Sangria they served kept me warm and fuzzy and the cute gay guys (pic. above) danced with me.   Of course all the WERID and STRANGE guys were looking/checking me out.  This was turning into another “what the heck is wrong with me I am never gonna meet a good guy only weirdos ever hit on me its like I’m being tortured for all my past sins and I’m going to have to go on a stupid date site to ever meet anyone is it over yet I can’t wait to go home and eat something and snuggle with Max” -type night, like most all nights. (pictured below, Wedding Banned and Sangria server girls, whom I grew to love that night).

When the band ended I turned around to leave with my friends and right behind me -I almost actually ran into him- but there he was–the guy (cue birds chirping, stars in the eyes, cartoon hearts and flowers around us, fireworks above, etc).–okay, not really, but whatever he said to me (can’t remember) I laughed hard, and to me that was like handing me gold.  He kept me laughing and before i knew it I deemed him number worthy and gave him mine.

As it always happens, at the same time I started this “dating thing” again, I got a bunch of other work (I have a few side jobs).  I was actually working 5 jobs when we went on our first, second and third dates (almost didn’t go on the third, but that’s another blog for another time).  So blogging, friends and most of my life got pushed out of the way.

But since this is a new time in my life and I am not the same person I used to be, I vowed I’d get back on track and not let a guy take priority over my life.  It has been quite a struggle, let me tell you.  It got so bad for a time I actually skipped running a couple times and ate ice cream (how horrible!!).  I thought for sure I was headed to the gutter and back to my old habits.   But this time I didn’t let the dropped ball stay on the ground, I picked it back up and got back on track.  I’ve actually said no when at the last minute he’s wanted to get together on a not on our date night-night cause he missed me (it was sooooo hard).  I’m allowing at least one weekend day to be alone so I can do things (like this) for myself.  It is a struggle, a takin’ it one day at a time thing.  Like everything in my life, I have to be disciplined, strong and consistent.

Not only is it good for me, but I think its going to be really good for the relationship (yes, he asked me to be his girlfriend!!).

So that’s about it.. going forward with this blog I’m going to try to backtrack while staying in the present to fill in the last two months, so bear with me!!

More pics of that night…sorry for the fuzzy pics, need better camera!!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Tell me:

 Have you ever let your life slide when a new relationship began?  How did you handle it?

Are you one of those who always keeps your priorities straight?  I would love to know your secret!

One thought on “Where I Have Been

Any questions, perspective, and comments are warmly welcomed.. I swear! Good and bad, its about growing and learning and getting better. I'd love to hear your thoughts, anytime. ;)

