Just Who are the People Your Neighborhood? A Monday Motivation

Do you know your neighbors or your neighborhood? Does my title make you want to sing a little Mr. Rogers (if you are old enough to know him – my very first “neighbor”).  Well I have a great story to tell you about my neighborhood and a few of the houses and neighbors met and not yet met.

Okay now what crazy thing have you gotten me into Grandma?

A couple weeks back I was walking the grandbaby on a warm October day when I remembered this house.  This house belongs to this man who was always very friendly when Max and I would walk by, even though Max would relive himself too often in this secret garden. Oh and there’s more, besides what I would come to find out much later which is that is this man is also the caretaker in the cemetery for the church I work for. Though I had never met our cemetery caretaker its kind of a separate entity and also not behind the church but a few blocks away. If you think his home is a  garden wonder, you ought to see the cemetery. I might not be a United Church of Christ member (I’m actually Episcopal) but I’d definitely rest in peace there.  But this is where he lives.

 

The house sits across the street from a park just the right size for little ones, so I decided to go there with her.  I had forgotten the real treasure that awaited us; mostly because you cannot appreciate this secret with a dog. That is because behind this house, attached to the garage, is a feast of fowl.. yes, that’s what I said.  Have a look!

Isn’t that neat especially for a common suburb of Chicago? We will be spending much more time here and when the weather gets warm again.  I was overjoyed to be able to share that with her. So after some park time we went on our way.  The next thing we saw was this very spooky house. It was spooky and these neighbors whom I have yet to meet always decorate for whatever holiday with such creative enthusiasm.  I feel honored to live among such artists.

I’m also honored and grateful I can take my babygirl through an interesting neighborhood, a mini zoo and a park and all for free. Arya went home pretty tired and played out that day and Grandma had a great idea for a post but the internet-less world I was living in wouldn’t let me until today.  I’m glad too because over the weekend Max and I were walking and we saw this house.  These are also neighbors I must find a way to meet soon.  I just love it!

Happy Monday.  If the weather’s good get out there and meet some new neighbors and see what little surprises might be hidden in your average common suburb or city.

Love, Encouragement and Blessings,

Laura

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any questions, perspective, and comments are warmly welcomed.. I swear! Good and bad, its about growing and learning and getting better. I'd love to hear your thoughts, anytime. ;)

